Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Soul's Jackson named mid-season MVP by AFL writers

-Courtesy of the Philadelphia Soul

Perhaps the key free agent signing of the offseason, veteran wide receiver Chris Jackson has proven his worth in joining the Philadelphia Soul.

He has caught 72 passes for 915 yards and 29 touchdowns to help the Soul to an 8-0 start, and Jackson is the mid-season Most Valuable Player in voting by members of the Arena Football League Writers Association (AFLWA).

Orlando Predators wide receiver T.T. Toliver was named Best Offensive Player at the midway point. He has 68 receptions for 988 yards and 19 touchdowns.

The Best Defensive Player is New York Dragons lineman Henry Taylor, who leads the league with 7½ sacks. He also was named Best Lineman.

Dallas Desperados do-everything wide receiver/defensive back Will Pettis is the Best Ironman. He has 46 catches for 521 yards and 14 touchdowns, and averages 17.5 yards per kickoff return and 15.3 per field goal return. Defensively, Pettis has six tackles and an interception.

Dragons defensive back Levy Brown, who has 48 tackles and five interceptions is the Best Rookie.

Mike Neu, who has the New Orleans VooDoo off to a 6-2 start after it went 5-11 last season, is the Best Coach. His VooDoo also is the Most Surprising Team, and New Orleans quarterback Danny Wimprine is the Most Surprising Player. He has thrown for 1,907 yards and 39 touchdowns with just three interceptions.

The Most Disappointing Team is the 0-8 Utah Blaze, which went 8-8 last season. Arizona Rattlers wide receiver Siaha Burley, who has dealt with hamstring issues, is the Most Disappointing Player. He has caught 33 passes for 379 yards and 12 touchdowns after making 166 receptions for 2,129 yards and 49 TDs last season in Utah.

The Top Story is the early success of the Desperados and Soul. Both undefeated clubs meet Monday in Philadelphia.

Voters believe the defending champion San Jose SaberCats, off to a 4-4 start, will make a charge down the stretch. They expect the Cleveland Gladiators, 2-14 last season in Las Vegas, to fade following a 4-3 beginning.


Most Valuable Player-Chris Jackson, Philadelphia Soul
Best Offensive Player-T.T. Toliver, Orlando Predators
Best Defensive Player-Henry Taylor, New York Dragons
Best Ironman-Will Pettis, Dallas Desperados
Best Lineman-Henry Taylor, New York Dragons
Best Rookie-Levy Brown, New York Dragons
Best Coach-Mike Neu, New Orleans VooDoo
Most Surprising Team-New Orleans VooDoo
Most Surprising Player-Danny Wimprine, New Orleans VooDoo
Most Disappointing Team-Utah Blaze
Most Disappointing Player-Siaha Burley, Arizona Rattlers
Top Story-Dallas Desperados and Philadelphia Soul undefeated at mid-season
Team that will surge-San Jose SaberCats
Team that will fade-Cleveland Gladiators


QB-Danny Wimprine, New Orleans VooDoo
FB-Marlion Jackson, Cleveland Gladiators
WR-Chris Jackson, Philadelphia Soul
WR-T.T. Toliver, Orlando Predators
WR-Huey Whittaker, Utah Blaze
OL-Bobby Harris, Orlando Predators
OL-Shane Grice, Georgia Force
OL-Phil Bogle, Philadelphia Soul

DL-Colston Weatherington, Dallas Desperados
DL- Henry Taylor, New York Dragons
DL-Gabe Nyenhuis, Philadelphia Soul
LB-DeJuan Alfonzo, Chicago Rush
LB-Marlon Moye-Moore, Orlando Predators
DB-Calvin Spears, New Orleans VooDoo
DB-Rashad Floyd, Colorado Crush
DB-Dennis Robinson, Chicago Rush

K-A.J. Haglund, San Jose SaberCats
KR-Chris Martin, Grand Rapids Rampage

No comments: