Monday, April 19, 2010

Dalembert wins J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

Samuel Dalembert of the Philadelphia 76ers is the 2009-10 recipient of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association. The award is named for the second commissioner of the league and honors an NBA player or coach for outstanding service and dedication to the community.

Dalembert, an eight-year NBA veteran, has worked tirelessly to provide relief to victims of a devastating earthquake in his native Haiti since Jan. 12, 2010. In addition to making a personal donation of $100,000 to UNICEF, he visited the stricken country twice and raised awareness of the need for relief.

His Samuel Dalembert Foundation, founded in 2007, teams with UNICEF, the Red Cross and Feed the Children to assist relief efforts in Haiti. Dalembert has also been active in helping to build a training facility and a school in Haiti called the Dalembert Academy.

“What Samuel has done should be a model for all professional athletes. He saw a crying need for help and worked tirelessly to give whatever aid he could while spurring others to act and contribute as well,” said Doug Smith of the Toronto Star, president of the PBWA.

The PBWA represents approximately 150 writers for newspapers, magazines and Internet services who cover the NBA on a regular basis. Members nominate players and vote for the award. The finalists this season were Dalembert, Charlie Villanueva of the Detroit Pistons, Ronny Turiaf of the Golden State Warriors and Adonal Foyle of the Orlando Magic.
2009-10 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

Following is a list of the all-time recipients of the NBA J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award:


Season       Winner, Team
1974-75       Wes Unseld, Washington
1975-76       Slick Watts, Seattle
1976-77       Dave Bing, Washington
1977-78       Bob Lanier, Detroit
1978-79       Calvin Murphy, Houston
1979-80       Austin Carr, Cleveland
1980-81       Mike Glenn, New York
1981-82       Kent Benson, Detroit
1982-83       Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1983-84       Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85       Dan Issel, Denver
1985-86       Michael Cooper, LA Lakers
                  Rory Sparrow, New York
1986-87       Isiah Thomas, Detroit
1987-88       Alex English, Denver
1988-89       Thurl Bailey, Utah
1989-90       Doc Rivers, Atlanta
1990-91       Kevin Johnson, Phoenix

Season       Winner, Team
1991-92       Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1992-93       Terry Porter, Portland
1993-94       Joe Dumars, Detroit
1994-95       Joe O’Toole, Atlanta
1995-96       Chris Dudley, Portland
1996-97       P.J. Brown, Miami
1997-98       Steve Smith, Atlanta
1998-99       Brian Grant, Portland
1999-00       Vlade Divac, Sacramento
2000-01       Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02       Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2002-03       David Robinson, San Antonio
2003-04       Reggie Miller, Indiana
2004-05       Eric Snow, Cleveland
2005-06       Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2006-07       Steve Nash, Phoenix
2007-08       Chauncey Billups, Detroit
2008-09       Dikembe Mutombo, Houston
2009-10       Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia

1 comment:

Unknown said...

62 wins - 0 Losses for the 2009-10 NBA Season!
Sports Handicapping genius made $186,000
in March 2010 alone with his sport picks.
How does he do it? This guy 'John' consistently
wins an astounding 97% of his NBA and MLB
sports bets averaging $70,000 a week!
62 straight wins in the NBA, and the
2010 MLB Baseball season is just getting started...