Friday, December 30, 2011

Rutgers' Sanu named Tri-State Player of the Year by Maxwell Club

The Maxwell Club has announced that Rutgers wide receiver Mohamed Sanu was chosen as the Club's 11th Tri-State Player of the Year.

Sanu was named the team's most valuable offensive player in addition to winning the Homer Hazel Trophy as team MVP Sunday. He was a unanimous selection for All-BIG EAST First Team honors following his record-setting season. He shattered the school and conference single-season receptions record with 109 in 2011, ranking fifth nationally. Sanu, who is second in Rutgers history in career receptions with 204, totaled 109 receptions for 1,144 yards and seven touchdowns in 12 regular season games in 2011.

Sanu is fifth nationally with 109 receptions in 2011. He has gone over the 100-yard mark in seven games in 2011 and has six games of double-digit receptions this season. He was named as an All-American selection by and by Phil Steele's College Football magazine.

Sanu starred at South Brunswick High School before enrolling at Rutgers University in 2009. He joins former Scarlet Knights Ray Rice (Baltimore Ravens) and Kenny Britt (Tennessee Titans) as recipients of the Tri-State Player of the Year award.

Sanu will be honored Friday, March 2, 2012 at the 75th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Harrah's Atlantic City Resort. Also receiving awards at this event will be; Andrew Luck - Stanford University (Maxwell Award), Tyrann Mathieu - LSU (Chuck Bednarik Award), and Archie Manning - National Football Foundation (Francis "Reds" Bagnell Award). The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winners of the Bert Bell Award (Professional Player of the Year) and Earl "Greasy" Neale Award (Professional Coach of the Year) on January 10, 2012.

Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala are available for purchase on the Club's website or by calling 215-643-3833.

No comments: