Monday, August 09, 2010

Rutgers' Savage named to Maxwell watch list

Rutgers sophomore quarterback Tom Savage (Springfield, Pa.) was named to the watch list for the 74th annual Maxwell Award today by the Maxwell Football Club. The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Savage is also on the watch list for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

The Pennsylvania native is coming off one of the best seasons ever by a true freshman quarterback. He appeared in 12 games with 11 starts in 2009 and finished the season with 2,211 passing yards and 14 touchdown passes. Savage also finished sixth in Rutgers single-season history with 2,211 passing yards.

Savage threw for the most yards by a true freshman in BIG EAST single-season history in 2009. He finished the season second nationally among all true freshman quarterbacks in passing yards and touchdowns.

Savage was named to the prestigious Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America team last season. He joined an impressive list of quarterbacks who have been named the quarterback of the FWAA Freshman All-America squad. Some of the past FWAA Freshman All-America quarterbacks include Sam Bradford in 2007, Colt McCoy in 2006, Chad Henne in 2004 and Ben Roethlisberger in 2001.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 8 and three finalists for the award will be announced November 22. The winner of the 2010 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 9, 2010. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 4, 2011.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2010 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

No comments: