Sunday, December 12, 2010

Jarrett named Temple Football MVP

Senior safety Jaiquawn Jarrett (Brooklyn, N.Y.) received the 2010 Owl Award as Temple’s most valuable player at the annual football banquet, sponsored by The Temple Owl Club, on Saturday evening at the Sheraton Hotel in Center City.

The Owl Award is presented annually to the man that is totally dedicated to the Temple Football program and is immensely respected by his peers, all members of the football program, and the Temple University community. The player must also possess the desire, integrity, and talent to excel both on and off the playing field and, above all, be a leader and winner.

A two-time first-team All-MAC honoree, team captain Jarrett started all 12 games at free safety this fall and played in every game of his collegiate career with 43 starts.  The Owls’ top defender with 74 tackles, Jarrett also had two interceptions, two break-ups, a forced fumble, and a fumble recovery this season.

Named to the prestigious Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, Jarrett was the recipient of the 2010 National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete and the 2010 Enterprise Spirit &Sportsmanship Awards.

On Temple’s all-time charts, Jarrett finished his career ranked No. 9 in interceptions (9) and No. 11 in tackles (299).

Junior DT Muhammad Wilkerson (Linden, N.J.) was the recipient of the defensive most valuable player honor. A two-time first-team All-MAC honoree, the team captain started all 12 games at tackle.  He finished third in tackles with 70 and led the Owls with 13.0 TFL and 9.5 sacks. Named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, he earned MAC Defensive Player of the Week accolades twice in 2010.

Senior WR Michael Campbell (Edison, N.J.) earned offensive most valuable player honors. Named a third-team All-MAC performer, he was the Owls’ top receiver this fall.  Campbell played in all 12 games with 10 starts. He finished with 724 yards and six touchdowns on 45 receptions. Named a team captain for the Villanova game, Campbell moved up on TU’s career charts to No. 4 with four 100-yard receiving games and No. 14 in receiving yards with 1,229.

Senior DB Marquise Liverpool (Ramsey, N.J.) received the special teams’ most valuable player award.
A starter in all 12 games at corner, he is one of just seven Owls to start every game while also playing on the kickoff and kickoff return units. He finished the season with 37 tackles and a team-high six break-ups. On special teams, Liverpool broke up a two-point conversion on the game’s final play, preserving the win over Bowling Green. He also recovered the fumble on Northern Illinois’ opening drive, setting up Matt Brown’s 25-yard TD run.

Junior WR Rod Streater (Burlington, N.J.) was named the team’s newcomer of the year. In his first year in the Cherry & White, Streater played in all 12 games with nine starts. He finished second in receiving with 481 yards and four touchdowns on 30 receptions.

Freshman RB Myron Myles (Ambler, Pa.) and junior LB Jeff Whittingham (Atlantic City, N.J.) were named the scout team players of the year. Both earned the coaches’ scout team player of the week honors several times during the season.

Senior OL Colin Madison (Villa Park, Ill.) earned the Top Hog Award as the top offensive lineman. A two-time first-team All-MAC honoree, the team captain played in all 12 games.  A starter at right guard for nine contests, Madison also started at left guard twice. Named to the 2010 New York Post’s Most-Under-Publicized Team, he was named the coaches’ offensive player of the game following the game at Northern Illinois.

Senior LB Elijah “Peanut” Joseph (Hartford, Conn.) earned the Carlos Diaz Award as the team’s most improved player. Named a second-team All-MAC honoree, he played in 10 games with seven starts at middle linebacker this fall. Second in team defense, Joseph finished with 71 tackles, including a team-best 46 solo takedowns, and a team-high six break-ups. He led TU with a career-high 12 tackles in the win at Army.

R-senior LB Jordan Martin (St. Louis, Mo.) received the Dr. Arthur N. Cook Most Courageous Athlete Award.

Senior NT Elisha Joseph (Hartford, Conn.) was the recipient of the George M. Illman Award for Leadership on and off the field.

Senior WR Josh Hutchison (Hollidaysburg, Pa.) and senior WR Delano Green (Fredericksburg, Va.) shared the J. Myron Honigman Award for Spirit, Dedication & Loyalty.

Senior WR Nyles Bynum (Queens, N.Y.) earned the John Rienstra Award for excellence in off-season conditioning.

Captains’ Awards were presented to seniors Jarrett, Eli Joseph, LB Amara Kamara (Newark, N.J.), and OL Darius Morris (Long Branch, N.J.) for their leadership during the season.  The John “D” Award for the top student manager was given to junior Dan Weick (Holland, Pa.) who completed his second season with the Owls.

R-senior TE Vaughn Charlton (Landenberg, Pa.) received the Owl Club Academic Award, sponsored by Dr. Peter Chodoff. The human resource management sports a 3.17 GPA.

Seniors LB Amara Kamara and P Jeff Wathne (Ledgewood, N.J.) shared the Athole Jacobi Award for Outstanding Community Service.

The Owls also announced that 61 student-athletes earned varsity letters for their contributions to the team this season. Among the letterwinners were 17 seniors that concluded their careers for the Cherry & White.


Owl Award/Team MVP: Jaiquawn Jarrett

Offensive MVP: Michael Campbell

Defensive MVP: Muhammad Wilkerson

Special Teams MVP: Marquise Liverpool

Newcomer of the Year: Rod Streater

Scout Team Players of the Year: Myron Myles, Jeff Whittingham

Captains’ Awards:  Jaiquawn Jarrett, Elisha Joseph, Amara Kamara, Darius Morris

Dr. Arthur N. Cook Most Courageous Athlete Award:  Jordan Martin

George M. Illman Award for Leadership on and off the field: Elisha Joseph

Top Hog Award/Best Offensive Lineman: Colin Madison

Carlos Diaz Award/Most Improved Player: Elijah “Peanut” Joseph

J. Myron Honigman Award for Spirit, Dedication & Loyalty:  Josh Hutchison, Delano Green

John Rienstra Award for Excellence in Off-season Conditioning: Nyles Bynum

Athole Jacobi Award for Outstanding Community Service: Amara Kamara, Jeff Wathne

Owl Club Academic Award, sponsored by Dr. Peter Chodoff: Vaughn Charlton

John “D” Award/Outstanding Student Manager: Dan Weick

2010 Temple Football Letterwinners: Ryan Alderman, Matt Balasavage, Wyatt Benson, Morris Blueford, Cody Booth, Pat Boyle, Levi Brown, Matt Brown, Morkeith Brown, Nyles Bynum, Tomas Cabrera, Michael Campbell, Steve Caputo, Vaughn Carraway, Vaughn Charlton, Kadeem Custis, Sean Daniels, Derek Dennis, Mike Gerardi, Justin Gildea, Delano Green, Marcus Green, Kee-ayre Griffin, Josh Hutchison, Alex Jackson, Jaiquawn Jarrett, Kamal Johnson, Kwame Johnson, Stephen Johnson, Zamel Johnson, Joe Jones, Maurice Jones, Elisha “Eli” Joseph, Elijah “Peanut” Joseph, Amara Kamara, Kevin Kroboth, Marquise Liverpool, Colin Madison, Jordan Martin, Brandon McManus, Deon Miller, Darius Morris, James Nixon, John Palumbo, Chris Parthemore, Shahid Paulhill, Bernard Pierce, Darryl Pringle, Adrian Robinson, Evan Rodriguez, Jeremy Schonbrunner, Ahkeem Smith, Chester Stewart, Rod Streater, Wayne Tribue, Martin Wallace, Jeff Wathne, Quinten White, Tahir Whitehead, Muhammad Wilkerson, Stephen Yuan

No comments: