Wednesday, June 16, 2010

American Hockey League announces realignment plans for 2010-11

Courtesy of

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league will operate with an all-time high of 30 active teams in 2010-11, which will also mark the AHL’s historic 75th season.

All 30 National Hockey League teams will have their own primary affiliate playing in the AHL next fall. The league’s Board of Governors has approved the following division alignment for 2010-11 (NHL affiliates in parentheses):

Eastern Conference
Atlantic Division East Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI) Adirondack Phantoms (PHI)
Hartford Wolf Pack (NYR) Albany Devils (NJ)
Manchester Monarchs (LA) Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Portland Pirates (BUF) Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Providence Bruins (BOS) Hershey Bears (WSH)
Springfield Falcons (CBJ) Norfolk Admirals (TB)
Worcester Sharks (SJ) Syracuse Crunch (ANA)

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (PIT)
Western Conference
North Division West Division
Abbotsford Heat (CGY) Chicago Wolves (ATL)
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET) Houston Aeros (MIN)
Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL) Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Lake Erie Monsters (COL) Oklahoma City Barons (EDM)
Manitoba Moose (VAN) Peoria Rivermen (STL)
Rochester Americans (FLA) Rockford IceHogs (CHI)
Toronto Marlies (TOR) San Antonio Rampage (PHX)

Texas Stars (DAL)

No comments: