Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Temple's Fernandez and Moore to play in College All-Star Game

PHILADELPHIA – Temple University’s standout backcourt of seniors Juan Fernandez and Ramone Moore will have one more game together as the duo will compete as members of the East squad at the 2012 Reese’s Division I College All-Star game, which will be played as part of Final Four on March 30.

The game will be held at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome with tip-time slated for 5:35 p.m. ET and will be televised on a tape-delayed basis Saturday at 1:00 p.m. ET on TruTV.

Fernandez also has been invited to participate in the 2012 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, which airs live for the first time in its 24-year history at 9 p.m. ET Thursday on ESPN. The event will take place at Fogelman Arena on the campus of Tulane University in New Orleans.  Fernandez, who ended his career second on Temple’s alltime three-point list (.402, 207-515), will take part in the three-point shooting championship.

Joining Moore and Fernandez on the East squad are Scott Machado (Iona), Kevin Murphy (Tennessee), Jae Crowder (Marquette), John Shurna (Northwestern), Keith Wright (Harvard), Garrett Stutz (Wichita State), Henry Sims (Georgetown) and Mitchell Watt (Buffalo).

The West squad is comprised of Casper Ware (Long Beach State), Jorge Gutierrez (California), Dominique Morrison (Oral Roberts), Devoe Joseph (Oregon), Bradford Burgess (VCU), Wendell McKines (New Mexico), Storm Warren (LSU), Chace Stanback (UNLV), Robert Sacre (Gonzaga) and Ricardo Ratliffe (Missouri).

Shurna, Stanback and Burgess will join Fernandez will be join Fernandez in Thursday’s three-point championship. The entire three-point championship roster has not been finalized.

No comments: