Friday, January 06, 2012

Shady, Peters and Babin earn All-Pro recognition

The Philadelphia Eagles today announced that three players earned Associated Press All Pro honors in 2011. RB LeSean McCoy and T Jason Peters were both selected to the first team while DE Jason Babin earned second-team honors. It was the first time being selected to the squad for both McCoy and Babin.

Babin becomes the first Eagles defensive end to earn All Pro honors since Hugh Douglas did so in 2000. He ranked third in the NFL in 2011 with a career-high 18.0 sacks and contributed to a relentless Eagles pass-rush that tied for the NFL lead with 50 sacks. His sack total this year tied for the third-most ever by an Eagle, trailing only Reggie White (21.0 in 1987) and Clyde Simmons (19.0 in 1992).

McCoy enjoyed one of the finest seasons in the history of the franchise, setting team records and leading the league in touchdowns (20) and rushing touchdowns (17), while becoming the first Eagle ever to score in nine straight games. His 1,309 rushing yards ranked fourth in the NFL and he has amassed a league-leading 102 first downs and 48 rushes of 10-plus yards.

Originally a rookie free agent signing in 2004 out of Arkansas, Peters has emerged into one of the elite tackles in the league, earning his fourth All Pro nomination. In 2011, Peters anchored an offensive line that set franchise records in total yards (6,386) and first downs (356).

No comments: