Tuesday, November 08, 2011

Union's Le Toux wins Fair Play Award for 2nd straight season

NEW YORK (November 8, 2011) – Philadelphia Union forward Sebastien Le Toux has received the 2011 Xbox 360 Individual Fair Play Award, Major League Soccer announced today.  The Frenchman has earned this honor for the second straight season, joining Steve Ralston (1999-2000) and Michael Parkhurst (2007-2008) as the only players to do the same.  Colorado Rapids defender Kosuke Kimura and New England Revolution defender Darrius Barnes were recognized as finalists for this year’s award.

“I’m very proud of having won this award,” said Le Toux. “It’s may not be the most prestigious prize that people are asking about, but I’m very happy to get it this year. It means I am always respectful on the field so I’m glad that the League and the referees know that.

“For me it’s good to show a good example to the youth and to the fans to show that even if you play hard you can stay without any yellow cards and respect the other team. I’m glad about that and be sure to set a good example in the future.”

Le Toux started all 34 games in which he played during the regular Season, totaling 3,060 minutes, and committed just 20 fouls.  The forward has yet to receive a yellow or red card or any other supplementary discipline in his MLS career.  His postseason career has also remained immaculate, as the Frenchman only committed one foul during the 180 minutes played against the Houston Dynamo in the Eastern Conference semifinals.

He finished tied for third in MLS in combined goals (11) and assists (9) and led the Union his team in both categories this year on their way to their first ever playoff appearance.  Le Toux’s stellar career with the Union added to his love and dedication for the club’s supporters has made him a fans’ favorite and a role model for the young soccer players around the region and the league.

MLS Fair Play Award – Individual Winners:

2011: Sebastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union

2010: Sebastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union

2009: Steve Ralston – New England Revolution

2008: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution

2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution

2006: Chris Klein – Real Salt Lake

2005: Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Eddie Pope – MetroStars

2003: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew

2002: Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids

2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion

2000: Steve Ralston – TampaBay Mutiny

1999: Steve Ralston – TampaBay Mutiny

1998: Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew

1997: Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards

No comments: