Monday, February 25, 2008

Local players win academic honor

-Courtesy of CAA

RICHMOND, Va. (Feb. 25, 2008) -- Delaware senior offensive lineman Mike Byrne and Villanova tight end Matt Sherry earned a share of the 2007 CAA Football Student-Athlete of the Year award.

Byrne, who maintains a 3.49 grade point average as a double-major in Psychology and Criminal Justice, helped lead the Blue Hens to an 11-4 overall record and a berth in the 2007 NCAA Division I National Championship game. The Lititz, Pa., native started all 15 games for Delaware and was part of an offense which featured CAA Football Co-Offensive Player of the Year quarterback Joe Flacco. Byrne logged First Team All-CAA Football honors in 2007 and was named to four All-American squads including the Walter Camp Foundation, College Sporting News, The Sports Network and Associated Press.

The Delaware co-captain played in 41 games during his four-year career helping the Hens to a 31-19 mark including two berths in the NCAA Division I Championships. Byrne is a four-time Commissioner's Honor Roll member and has been a part of ESPN The Magazine District 2 Academic All-America squads twice.

Sherry, who earned a finance degree from Villanova in May 2007, currently maintains a 3.84 grade point average while working towards a Masters of Business Administration at Villanova. The Rumford, R.I., native was the league's First Team All-Conference tight end after logging a team-best 37 receptions for 461 yards and five touchdowns. The senior co-captain, who
helped the Wildcats to a 7-4 overall mark and league record of 5-3, logged a career game in Villanova's 63-24 win over William and Mary. Sherry, who earned All-America status from The Sports Network, set career highs with seven catches for 105 yards and tied a career-best with two touchdowns against the Tribe, Oct. 6.

During his career Sherry has played in 39 games and logged 89 receptions for 1,059 yards and nine touchdowns. The graduate student was also a member of the 2007 Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association National Academic All-Star squad.

No comments: