Thursday, March 12, 2015

Temple's Fran Dunphy Named 2015 American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year

HARTFORD, Conn. - Temple University head coach Fran Dunphy was named the 2015 American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, marking the third time in his nine years at Temple that he has earned conference Coach of the Year honors. 

Dunphy previously was named Atlantic 10 Conference Coach of the Year twice (2010, 2012).  The announcement was made at the conference's awards luncheon held Thursday at the XL Center. 

"I am humbled by this honor as there are so many coaches deserving of this award in our conference," Dunphy said. "While this may read Coach of the Year, it is truly a team award.  I would like to recognize our staff for all the hard work throughout the season, and our players for their hard work this season."

Dunphy, who has also earned four Philadelphia Big 5 Coach of the Year honors during his tenure at Temple, was chosen by his counterparts as The American Coach of the Year after he engineered a remarkable turnaround for the Owls, who finished 22-9 overall and 13-5 in conference play.

Temple, which was 9-22 last season, scored a signature win against then-No. 10 Kansas, marking the Owls' sixth win over a Top 10 team over the last seven seasons.  It is also the eighth straight season Temple has defeated a nationally-ranked opponent. The Owls also surpassed the 20-win mark for the seventh time in nine seasons.

The second all-time winningest coach in Big 5 play, Dunphy enters postseason play with 499 wins to rank 24th among active Division I coaches for career wins.  He also has compiled 13 conference championships, including 10 Ivy League titles and three A10 crowns.

SMU guard Nic Moore, who led the Mustangs to their first regular-season conference championship since 1993, was named the American Athletic Conference Player of the Year by the league’s 11 head coaches.

UConn guard/forward Daniel Hamilton was chosen by the coaches as The American’s Rookie of the Year, Huskie guard Pat Lenehan accepted the league’s Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Temple, the fourth-seed in the conference tournament, opens play against fifth-seed Memphis (18-13) Friday at 2:00 pm.
Post a Comment