Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Temple's Hardin, Palmer on college HOF ballot

PHILADELPHIA – Former Temple football coach Wayne Hardin (1970-82) and running back Paul Palmer (1983-86) are among the 84 honorees on the 2012 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced today.

“Having a ballot and a voice in the selection of the inductees is one of the most cherished NFF member benefits,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Ole Miss. “There is no group more knowledgeable or passionate about college football than our membership, and the tradition of the ballot helps us engage them in the lofty responsibility of selecting those who have reached the pinnacle of achievement in our sport.”

Hardin, who coached at Navy (1959-64) before heading to Temple, led the Owls to a No. 17 ranking in 1979. He is Temple’s all-time leader in wins (80), leading the Owls to their only 10-win season and their first bowl win in the 1979 Garden State Bowl.

Palmer was an unanimous first-team All-American in 1986, his senior season. He led the nation in rushing yards (1,866), rushing yards per game (169.6) and all-purpose yards (2,633) that season. Named 1986 ECAC Player of the Year, Palmer set 23 school records and remains the Owls’ career leader in rushing attempts (935), rushing yards (4,895), 100-yard rushing games (21), and 200-yard rushing games (6) .

The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class. Chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC Commissioner and NCAA president, the 14-member NFF Honors Court includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City during a Noon press conference on May 15 and inducted at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 4, 2012 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

No comments: