Monday, May 05, 2014

Giroux a Lindsay Award finalist

First it was a finish in the top three for the Hart Trophy, voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, now it's a player-driven honor for Claude Giroux.

On Monday morning, the NHL revealed that Giroux was named one of the three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, an honor given to the player acknowledged to be the best in the league as voted on by his peers.

As was the case for the Hart, Giroux is joined by Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Anaheim Ducks forward Ryan Getzlaf.

Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, it was granted for the first time to Phil Esposito of the Boston Bruins following the 1970-71 campaign.

Only two members of the Flyers organization have won it previously -- and the latter in a season when he also took home the Hart: Bobby Clarke in 1974 (in between Hart years of 1973 and '75) and Eric Lindros in 1995.
Post a Comment