Sunday, April 13, 2014

2014 Philadelphia Flyers Award Winners

Prior to Sunday's season-ending matinee contest against the Carolina Hurricanes, the Philadelphia Flyers handed out their annual awards to the players voted the best in various modes.

Claude Giroux made out like a bandit, snagging the Toyota Cup for finishing the season with the most star selections of all his teammates for the balance of the season, and also claimed the Bobby Clarke Trophy as team MVP for the third time in the last four seasons.

The Gene Hart Memorial Award, granted to the player which is deemed to show the most "heart," was given to goaltender Steve Mason, who tied a career-high for wins in a season with 33 while reclaiming the confidence and consistency he showed in his early years with the Columbus Blue Jackets. He's the first goaltender to win the honor since the award's 2007 inception.

Always a measuring stick for a player's true worth as it relates to making the media's job easier, the Yanick Dupre 'Class Guy' Award for friendly rapport with writers went to Jakub Voracek, one year after linemate Scott Hartnell was chosen.

An obvious choice as the club's most improved player, rookie forward Michael Raffl snagged the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Award as chosen by his teammates.

Something of a contentious selection given the state of the Flyers' defense in certain seasons, Kimmo Timonen was chosen for the third straight year and fifth time in his Philadelphia tenure to win the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the top blueliner.
Post a Comment